Major Prize Winner $3000 Maryanne Coutts, with her animated drawing Corridor

2D Award $1000 Bridget Hillebrand

3D Award $1000 Scott Faulkner

Local Artist Award $500 Ruth Allen

Highly Commended Award
sponsored by Melbourne Artists’ Supplies Chris Humphries

Tattersall's Peoples Choice Award $1000 Oleh Witer










2007 Williamstown Festival Tattersall's Contemporary Art Prize

The 2007 Williamstown Festival Tattersall’s Contemporary Art Prize was officially opened by Mrs Terry Bracks in front of an enthusiastic audience of over 200 artists and art lovers on Thursday 15th March at The Substation, 1 Market Street, Newport.

The free public exhibition featured artists selected from a record over 400 entries by the expert panel of judges; Lesley Alway, Director, Heide Museum of Modern Art; Jane Devery, Assistant Curator, Exhibitions & Contemporary Art, NGV; Simon Perry, leading public artist and lecturer in Sculpture at RMIT.

Eighty artists were short-listed for the 2007 awards and the winners were announced on the night by judge Simon Perry. “Events like the Williamstown Festival Tattersall’s Contemporary Art Prize allow emerging artists to exhibit alongside more established artists and this provides important development opportunities for individual artists and fosters and strengthens the artistic community’ he said. He also commented about the standard of works and how difficult the judges decisions were, saying “there is some tremendous work on display here”.

The exhibition and awards are held at the Newport Substation, a heritage building that is growing a reputation as one of Melbourne’s best and most unique contemporary art spaces.

Download 2007 catalogue

2007 Judges

Lesley Alway, Director, Heide Museum of Modern Art
Jane Devery, Assistant Curator Exhibitions & Contemporary Art, National Gallery of Victoria
Simon Perry, leading public artist & lecturer in Sculpture at RMIT

Exhibiting Artists

Ruth Allen, Sharon Billinge, Maryanne Coutts, Robert Doble, Mark Farrelly, Peter Garnick, ErikaGofton, Tim Gresham, Jason Haufe, Bridget Hillebrand, Chris Humphries Annika Koops, Carolyn Lewens, Alicia Maroto, Ilona Nelson, Michael Orloff, Karenne Rees, Gary Solomon James Tapscott, Oleh Witer, Robyn Base Paul Borg, Jo Darvall, Louise Donovan, Scott Faulkner, Jessica Geron, Julie Goodwin, Colleen Guiney, Liz Henderson, Ulrika Holmlund, Cathy Jankowsky, Alison Langley, Cameron Lindsay, Mark McCarthy, Anna Nilsson, Suzie O'Shea, Anne Scambary, Neil Stanyer, Ebony Truscott, Daniel Worth, Carol Batchelor, Kerry Buckland-Lewis, Mat de Moiser, Jenny Evans, Rober tFenton, Stefan Gevers, Andrew Green, Oshik Harari, Kerry Herrmann, Kelly Hotchin, Sylvia Jeffriess, IanLaurens, Song Ling, Darren McGinn, Isabel O'Brien, Saskia Pandji Sakti, Julie Shiels, Jennyfer Stratman, Clare Whitney, YennY, Hannah Bertram, Helen Cahun, Red Dedman, Vincent Fantauzzo, SuGarfinkle, Therese Gilligan, Peter Gresham, KatherineHattam, Debbie Hill, Victoria Howlett, Fiona Forest Keegel, KellyLeonard, Stevie Maree, David McLeod, Anna-Maria O'Keeffe, Louis Pratt, Samantha Sokolis, Amber Stuart. Jud Wimhurst, Michelle Zuccolo